PIMvendors

Knowledge Base · Core ·

Core · Guide

Best PIM Software for Small Businesses (Under 5,000 SKUs) in 2026

Last updated: 3 November 2026.

For a small business with fewer than 5,000 SKUs, look first at Plytix, Apimio, Ergonode, WisePIM and Katana PIM. They publish their prices, you can start without a long project, and each has a plan that covers 5,000 SKUs. Sales Layer, Afosto and AtroPIM are worth adding to a shortlist, and Akeneo Community Edition fits a team with its own developers.

Which of them is best depends less on features than on limits. At this catalog size most products can model your data. The difference is in how many users, languages and stores the plan allows, whether the connector to your shop costs extra, and how much help you get to set it up. This page compares those points from the vendors' own pricing pages, then helps you decide whether you need a PIM yet and how to get out of the spreadsheet. For the wider market, including mid-market and enterprise systems, see the best PIM software.

Which PIM software is best for a small business with fewer than 5,000 SKUs?

The table lists entry-level and SaaS PIMs that sell to small catalogs. It is not a ranking. Vendors that publish their prices come first, quote-only vendors after them. A price appears only where the vendor publishes it on its own pricing page, in the vendor's own currency, and every price was checked on 3 November 2026. Where a vendor does not publish a price, the cell says quote.

VendorStarting priceFree tier or trialSetup effortLimits on the pricing pageBest for
Plytix€0 at 100 SKUs, €49 a month at 500 SKUs on Standard (checked 3 November 2026)€0 Standard at 100 SKUs; no trial mentioned, demo on requestSelf-service SaaS; Shopify, BigCommerce and Wayfair connectors are paid add-onsPrice set by SKU count up to 25,000, custom above; unlimited seats on every planBrands and online sellers who want price by SKU count and many users
Apimio$199 a month, Basic PIM (checked 3 November 2026)14-day free trial of Advanced PIM; no free planNo setup fee on Basic and AdvancedBasic: 10,000 SKUs, 3 users, 1 Shopify store, 50 GB; a SKU in several languages or stores counts onceShopify sellers with one store and a small team
Ergonode€0 Free, Advance from €5,990 a year (checked 3 November 2026)Free plan; no trial mentionedSelf-service on Free; XLS import, export and a Shopify CSV export app includedFree: 1,000 products, 2 users; Advance: 20 users, product limit shown as 25,000/50,000; languages unlimitedTesting a full PIM for free below 1,000 products, then growing
WisePIM€0 Free, Lite €119 a month billed yearly (checked 3 November 2026)Free plan, 100 products, no credit cardSelf-service SaaSPlans by product count from 100 to 50,000; unlimited users; 70+ languages; all store integrationsTeams that want a fixed price per product band and many languages
Katana PIM€399 a month billed yearly, €599 monthly, Starter (checked 3 November 2026)No free plan; limited-time trialOne-time setup fee of €1,500; onboarding not included, from €2,500Starter: 500 SKUs, 2 users, 2 languages; Pro: 10,000 SKUs, 5 users, 5 languages; unlimited channelsTeams that want onboarding help and several languages from the start
Lasso€0 Free, Pro €149 a month billed annually (checked 3 November 2026)Free plan, 100 SKUsSelf-service SaaSFree: 100 SKUs, 1 GB; Pro: 1,000 SKUs, 10 GB; unlimited users; above that Enterprise, customVery small catalogs and supplier data onboarding
Afosto€219 a month, Start (checked 3 November 2026)Free trial, length not statedNot documentedStart: up to 10,000 SKUs; users and channels not statedShops that want PIM next to commerce and content tools
AtroPIMOpen source edition free; SaaS from €400 a month (checked 3 November 2026)Free open source edition to self-hostSelf-hosted on your own infrastructure, or SaaS with a support and a hosting package on a 3-month termSaaS Bronze support: up to 5 standard users, 10,000 records, 1 environment, no integrationTeams with IT skills that want open source or a low SaaS entry
Sales LayerQuote30-day free trialCSV and Excel export included on Scale; Shopify, BigCommerce and Amazon connectors are add-onsScale: up to 5 users, 10,000 SKUs, 1 languageTeams that want a long trial and room to grow on higher plans
AkeneoCommunity Edition free; Growth package quoteFree Community Edition to self-hostYou download, install and host it yourself; help through the community and partnersNot documented on the pageTeams with developers who want a free start and a SaaS upgrade path
CatsyQuoteFree trial on request for the Essential planOnboarding periods listed (30 days, 90 days, custom), not clearly tied to a planMarketplace channels listed as 5, 10 and unlimited; SKUs not statedShopify and marketplace sellers who want a packaged setup

Two patterns stand out. First, vendors count differently: Plytix, WisePIM, Lasso and Katana PIM price by SKU or product count, AtroPIM's SaaS support packages count records, and Apimio counts a SKU once across languages and stores. Second, the cheapest plan is often not the one you need: Ergonode's free plan stops at 1,000 products, Lasso's Pro plan at 1,000 SKUs, and Katana PIM's Starter at 500 SKUs.

What does a PIM cost for 5,000 SKUs?

The table below takes the cheapest plan on each published price list that covers 5,000 SKUs. These are license prices only, as shown on 3 November 2026, without VAT, add-ons or implementation.

VendorPlan that covers 5,000 SKUsPublished price
PlytixStandard at the 5,000 SKU step€159 a month
ApimioBasic PIM (10,000 SKUs)$199 a month, billed monthly
AfostoStart (up to 10,000 SKUs)€219 a month
AtroPIMSaaS edition, Bronze support (up to 10,000 records)from €400 a month, or €4,320 a year
ErgonodeAdvance (Free stops at 1,000 products)from €5,990 a year, shown as €499 a month
WisePIMGrowth (5,000 products)€499 a month billed yearly, €649 monthly
Katana PIMPro (10,000 SKUs)€699 a month billed yearly, €999 monthly, plus a €1,500 setup fee
Lasso, Sales Layer, Akeneo (paid), CatsyEnterprise or quote-only plansquote

So the license for a 5,000 SKU catalog runs from about €1,900 to €8,400 a year on these lists. That is not the budget. Our PIM cost guide puts the entry-level tier at €20k to €70k in year 1 and €10k to €40k in the years after, because year 1 also pays for cleaning the data, modeling it, connecting the shop and training the team. A small, clean catalog with one shop sits at the bottom of that band. Several languages, supplier feeds or an ERP connection move you up. The cost calculator gives a first estimate for your own scope.

Do you need a PIM yet?

A small catalog does not need a PIM by default. The question is whether the spreadsheet still keeps one correct version of each product. Score yourself on the signals below, or take our free Do I need a PIM check for a scored answer.

SignalA spreadsheet still worksTime to look at a PIM
Who edits product dataOne personSeveral people or teams, sometimes at once
ChannelsOne webshopA shop plus marketplaces, resellers or a print catalog
LanguagesOneTwo or more, translated by different people
Supplier dataRare, entered by handRegular files in different formats
Images and documentsA few per product, in one folderMany per product, linked by hand to each channel
ErrorsRare and quickly fixedWrong prices, missing specs or old images reach customers
Time to launch a productFine for the businessNew products wait on manual copy and paste

If most of your answers sit in the left column, keep the spreadsheet and tidy it. If two or three sit in the right column, a small PIM usually pays back in time saved. More on the profiles that benefit is in who needs a PIM solution.

Which limits on a PIM pricing page matter for a small catalog?

Entry-level pricing pages look alike, but the limits differ in ways that change the bill. Check these six before you start a trial:

  1. How SKUs are counted. Per variant, per language or per store makes a large difference. Apimio, for example, counts a SKU once even when it is sold in several languages or stores.
  2. Users. Plytix, WisePIM and Lasso list unlimited users. Apimio Basic allows 3, Katana PIM Starter 2, Sales Layer Scale 5 and Ergonode Free 2.
  3. Languages. Sales Layer Scale includes 1 language and Katana PIM Starter 2. WisePIM lists 70+ and Ergonode no limit.
  4. Stores and connectors. Check whether the connector to your shop platform is included or a paid add-on, and how many stores the plan allows.
  5. Storage and API calls. Image-heavy catalogs hit storage limits first; integrations hit API limits.
  6. Billing terms. Yearly prices are often lower but committed. Katana PIM's yearly price is a 12-month commitment, WisePIM's yearly plan is paid upfront, and AtroPIM's SaaS runs on a 3-month term.

How do you move from a spreadsheet to a PIM?

Most small businesses come to a PIM from Excel or Google Sheets. The move goes faster when the data is cleaned before it enters the new system, not after. Our free guide From Excel to PIM covers the full sequence. In short:

  1. Name one owner and one master file. Stop parallel copies before you migrate, or you will migrate the conflicts too.
  2. List your attributes and channel requirements. Write down every field you keep and every field each channel requires, such as marketplace category fields.
  3. Clean the data first. Remove duplicates, make units consistent, split combined fields and fill or flag empty values.
  4. Model a sample in a trial. Load a handful of real products, including your most complex one with variants, into the free plan or trial of each shortlisted PIM.
  5. Map the import and the first export. Connect the source (spreadsheet, ERP or supplier file) and your main shop, and check that the exported product looks right in the channel.
  6. Run in parallel for one update cycle. Make the next price or range update in the PIM and compare the result with the spreadsheet.
  7. Switch the source. From then on, edit only in the PIM, and set completeness rules so a product cannot go live with missing fields.

When is an entry-level PIM not enough?

Some small companies outgrow these plans early. A manufacturer with technical products, spare parts that fit only certain machine versions, or classification standards such as ETIM may need a richer data model than an entry-level SaaS offers, even with only a few thousand SKUs. The same goes for a company that needs an ERP integration with complex rules from day one. Our cost guide explains why such a company can land in the mid-market band.

Above the entry level, prices rise quickly. Pimberly, which also publishes its prices, starts at €36,000 a year for 50,000 SKUs and 20 users (checked 3 November 2026). If you expect that kind of growth, compare the full market in the best PIM software, weigh the open source route in open source PIM compared, or let the free PIM Scan filter vendors on your scale and requirements. The method for a structured choice is in how to select the right PIM.

How we evaluated

We started from the vendors in our directory that sell to small and entry-level catalogs, plus Catsy, which has no profile with us yet. For each vendor we opened the vendor's own pricing page on 3 November 2026 and took the starting price, the free plan or trial, the setup terms and the published limits on SKUs, users, languages and channels. Where a page shows no price we wrote quote, and where a limit is not on the page we wrote not documented. We did not use third-party price estimates. The best-for column is our editorial judgment based on those limits and on our vendor profiles. Budget bands come from our own PIM cost guide.

PIMvendors is an independent PIM selection platform. The order of the table follows the published pricing, not a score. Prices change often, so check the vendor's page before you sign.

Sources

  • Plytix, pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • Apimio, pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • Ergonode, pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • WisePIM, pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • Katana PIM, pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • Lasso, pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • Afosto, PIM pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • AtroCore (AtroPIM), pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • Sales Layer, pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • Akeneo, PIM Community Edition, checked 3 November 2026.
  • Catsy, pricing, checked 3 November 2026.
  • Pimberly, pricing, checked 3 November 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best PIM software for a small business with fewer than 5,000 SKUs?

For under 5,000 SKUs, look first at Plytix, Apimio, Ergonode, WisePIM and Katana PIM. They publish their prices, start self-service or with a fixed setup fee, and have a plan that covers 5,000 SKUs. Sales Layer, Afosto and AtroPIM are worth a look too, and Akeneo Community Edition fits a team with its own developers. The best one is the one whose limits and connectors match your catalog, your shop and your team.

How much does a PIM cost for 5,000 SKUs?

On the published price lists we checked on 3 November 2026, a plan that covers 5,000 SKUs costs from €159 a month (Plytix Standard) to €699 a month (Katana PIM Pro on yearly billing, plus a one-time €1,500 setup fee). Apimio Basic is $199 a month. Sales Layer, Akeneo's paid editions and Catsy quote on request. Add implementation and data work: our entry-level band is €20k to €70k in year 1.

Is there a free PIM for small businesses?

Yes, with limits. Ergonode has a free plan for up to 1,000 products and 2 users, WisePIM and Lasso have free plans for 100 products or SKUs, Plytix shows €0 for its Standard plan at 100 SKUs, and Akeneo Community Edition and the AtroPIM open source edition are free to self-host. Apimio and Sales Layer offer free trials instead.

Do I need a PIM with fewer than 5,000 SKUs?

Not always. If one person maintains the catalog in one language for one shop, a well-kept spreadsheet can be enough. A PIM starts to pay off when several people edit the same data, when you sell in more than one channel or language, or when supplier files and images keep getting out of step. Our free Do I need a PIM check scores your situation.

How do I move from Excel to a PIM?

Name one owner and one master file, list the attributes and the fields each channel requires, clean duplicates and units before you migrate, model a sample of real products in a trial, map the import and your first channel export, run both in parallel for one update cycle, and then stop using the spreadsheet as the source.

Which limits should I check on a PIM pricing page?

Check how the vendor counts SKUs (per variant, per language or per store), the number of users, languages and connected stores, whether shop connectors are included or paid add-ons, storage and API limits, and whether the price is per month or per year with an annual commitment.

Diagnostic

Do you actually need a PIM?

Run the complexity index before you budget software or hire an SI.

Start assessment

Budget

Model a first-pass TCO

Translate catalog shape into a three-year cost range in under ten minutes.

Open cost calculator